Jingles, the ultimate sing along

Most people would agree with me when I say that radio jingles can vary from
catchy to just downright annoying. As a commuter, I spend a significant
amount of time each week driving and listening to the radio.

What stands out is not necessarily the greatest adverts or things that
actually interest me, rather the jingles or those really annoying adverts.

A classic is on Mix 101.1 (Melbourne) – “Heeellooooo, this Fraaaannk
Waaalkerrr from National Tiles,” the voice grates on my nerves like nothing
else and often incites me to rage, and yet it is one of the adverts I always
remember.

Other adverts that stand out and that I can still remember to date are ads
that have jingles:

13 Cabs is a definite stand out and Victory Curtains and Blinds. To this day
that stupid jingle still pops in my head (I swear I heard it about 10 years
ago) and I can remember their phone number.

So have marketers underestimated the power of the jingle in product recall?
Perhaps we have. Perhaps the cheesiness of a jingle has turned us off, but
maybe it’s time to embrace the cheese and go back to get our customers to
sing along with the brand.

Think ‘Happy Little Vegemite’ or ‘I like Aeroplane Jelly’, brands with songs
that even new generations know about.

There’s something to be said about the brand recall of the humble jingle,
maybe we should create one for DGM Advertising. If anyone has any
brainwaves, feel free to send them through. In the mean time, I’ll keep
inadvertently humming along with whatever corny jingle the radio puts on
next…

About dgmadvertising

DGM Advertising are a full service, marketing, creative and advertising agency based in Melbourne. With 11 years in the business, DGM Advertising are a boutique agency who specailise in digital content, social media and online marketing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

