Laura and Bridge Guest Speakers at AMI Emerging Marketers Event

Laura

After being invited by Emerging Marketers VIC (a part of the AMI) to speak along with Bridge about our mentor / mentee relationship I was quite excited. I think to go and speak about something that is genuine and very much specific to you as an individual (rather than an expert topic) is always fun. The room was quite full, with lots of eager faces ready to break into their marketing career, or take the next step. I don’t have to remember all that long ago to when I was in that exact same position, looking for any piece of advice or info that could help get me on my way!

Bridge and I simply shared how we approach working together. It’s been 2 years so you do get to know someone professionally and personally during that time. The biggest point I wanted to stress as a mentor was not to expect your mentee to be a mini version of you. No two individuals are the same, and Bridge and I are quite different personalities. What has been the trick for us is like any good relationship – listening, mutual respect and encouragement. Being labelled as someone’s mentor is a huge honour, I just hope I get to continue to work with Bridge for the next 2 years – in whatever capacity.

Bridge

I’m not going to lie, I was pretty nervous before speaking at my first event, but when I got up to speak it was encouraging to have 100 or so smiling young faces looking back at me!

During the speech I shared my experience as an emerging marketer and what I have learnt during my time at DGM. I also explained my expectations of the advertising industry and how they were challenged during a filming of A Current Affair story at a landfill site.

I gave the audience an insight to what it was like working at DGM and one of Australia’s largest not-for-profits and the variety of work I get to do as Salvos Stores Marketing Department.

It was great to talk about Laura and my relationship over a two year period. Between herself and DGM’s previous Marketing Manager, they have taught me everything I know! I enjoy watching Laura talk to clients, suppliers and colleagues and admire the way she can build up relationships with anyone and find the best way of working with some very different personalities.

Laura has been an outstanding mentor because she takes the time to teach you things and encourage you to push yourself further. She is also a good listener and open to new ideas I bring to the table. I am looking forward to working together on cool projects in the future.

Thanks EMV and AMI for having us along on Tuesday night.

About dgmadvertising

DGM Advertising are a full service, marketing, creative and advertising agency based in Melbourne. With 11 years in the business, DGM Advertising are a boutique agency who specailise in digital content, social media and online marketing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

